I woke up this morning with a blue screen on my computer monitor and a “Welcome” from Microsoft to Windows 10. For about a year I have resisted the invitations that have appeared regularly to download this free upgrade from Windows 7 to the “new and improved” Windows 10.

windows-10

In Nate Ralph’s review of this new operating system (OS) for CNET he says, “Windows 10 delivers a refined, vastly improved vision for the future of computing… and it’s a free upgrade for most users.”

Regardless of whether  Windows 10 is better than the version that I have been using. I felt like I was a victim of what Brad Chacos, Senior Editor of PC World, calls ” the nasty new way that Microsoft’s tricking Windows 7 and 8 users into automatically updating to Windows 10.” Although he likes the new OS, Chacos objects to “the heavy handed tactics that Microsoft has been using to force people into the upgrade, all to hit a goal of migrating 1 billion users to an operating system” and methods “purposefully designed to confuse users who have been wearily slogging through the nagging” for months.

microsoft-va-stoca-in-germania-datele-clientilor-europeni-pentru-a-i-proteja-de-spionajul-american-338486-1

Chacos expresses my feelings very well. I have been well satisfied with Windows 7 Home Professional for quite a while and felt no need to change. Repeatedly I said “No” to the suggestion that I schedule the download for this new version of Windows. I feel like Microsoft has forcibly taken control over my PC without my permission.

For months the Get Windows 10 pop up could not be disabled so you had to press the X repeatedly if you did not want to upgrade. Then Microsoft changed the pop up so that exiting the window now is treated as consent for the Windows 10 upgrade, rather than cancelling it.

change-quotes

I acknowledge that I am often resistant to change even when it appears that this will be good for me. It takes time and some persuasion, or at least intentional thoughtful decision making, for me to make significant changes. It is possible, even likely, that Microsoft has done me a favor in the long run but I resent the use of “dirty tricks” to get it done. It will take some time for me to conclude that Windows 10 is an improvement. In the meantime, I don’t have positive feelings toward Microsoft.

Whether in business, politics or religion. In personal or corporate life. This experience reminds me that there is a wrong way to do the right thing. The end does not always justify the means. I hope I will remember that in all facets of life and my relationships with others.

Jamie Jenkins

 

